Programme overview


The MSc study programme SIFC lasts 2 years with a total of 120 ECTS credits. It is divided into 3 semester modules (1 basic module A + 2 advanced  modules B) and a master thesis. Each semester module as well as the master thesis will cover 30 ECTS credits.

Start of the programe is at BOKU Vienna, where students have to take the basic module A and one advanced module B. The first semester module A consists of basic lectures and exercises in the area of food science. The advanced semester module B deal with special subjects in the fields of food safety. Students choose two advanced modules B. One of the advanced modules B has to be completed at a partner university. The master thesis can be prepared at each of  the SIFC universities and in cooperation with the industry. This individual structure of the MSc SIFC offers a new international perspective for students and facilitates movement between different universities.


General Scheme

Basic Module A (30 ECTS):

This Module consists of compulsory courses. It covers principles related to food safety to provide the students with basic knowledge in this area. Thus they will be optimally prepared for the following two advanced Modules.

Advanced Modules B (60 ECTS):

Subsequent to Module A, SIFC-students have to take 2 Advanced Modules B with 30 ECTS credits each. One Module B has to be attended at the Home University (BOKU), while the second has to be done at a partner University. The SIFC-partner Universities (University of Copenhagen, University of Hohenheim and Wageningen University and Research Centre) provide one Module which implies subjects related to its special expertises and core competencies.

Master Thesis:

The Master thesis is a scientific assignment which covers 30 ECTS credits. It has to proof that students are able to work on any topic related to food safety in a scientific and independent way. The Master thesis can be performed in the winter or summer semester at any SIFC-partner university.